What our clients say

Wonderful Place for a Special Occasion

I can’t say enough about Kathy, the owner, and the beautiful property. I along with 19 of my girlfriends, celebrated my 50th birthday party there last October. Kathy helped to organize an “all inclusive” event with spa treatments, a chef, entertainment, activities, and excursions. Everyone had a great time. I highly recommend Madre Del Mar and Kathy!

  • Stayed: October 2007
  • Submitted:
  • Source: HomeAway Family
Sheila C. Gilbert, Arizona

Favorite place to relax in rocky point!

We have stayed in Kathy’s beautiful home 3 times and look forward to a return visit in October 2015. We have gone with family and friends and also celebrated a bridal shower for one of our girls. We had a chef and masseuse come in to help with the event and it was perfect! Each visit holds wonderful memories! The layout is perfect for multi family groups, as everyone can have their own space. The main kitchen and living room area is very large and has plenty of room for large or smaller groups. The extra casitas on top are perfect for those that want more privacy. The beach is beautiful and quiet. Kathy is very helpful with tips for your visit , if it is your first time. We usually go into town one day to shop and have lunch, though we prefer to be at the house for the majority of the time. You can even do some shopping on the beach from local vendors and they are respectful of your space if you do not want to be bothered. A great way to get some local trinkets or fresh tortillas while enjoying the beach! The kitchen has everything you need to prepare all of your meals and the sunsets are amazing! We cant wait to return!

  • Stayed: October 2014
  • Submitted:
  • Source: VRBO
merry tempe az

Beautiful time

We spend the weekend at one of the casitas and its just beautiful. Kathy is a great hostess. We had dinner with her and like always we had a great time and can’t wait for our next time to visit. Its a very relaxing and quiet place. Thank you

  • Stayed: March 2015
  • Submitted:
  • Source: VRBO
Patricia A.

A True Mexican Gem

Kathy is a wonderful hostess and human being, a beautiful humanitarian, and one of the most genuine people I have ever met and worked with. We were fortunate enough to stay here at Madre del Mar during a mission excursion. We had a large group and were able to occupy the entire complex. It was great to have enough space for everybody, the beach at our disposal, and a nice, relaxing, quiet place to go at the end of a hard days work. The air conditioning went out in the middle of the night in one of our rooms. We called Kathy, and it was fixed by the time we returned. She was very attentive and offered help where it wasn’t expected. She went far beyond what was expected or what could have been hoped for in a hostess. The photos do not do the place justice. It is a beautiful home, and offers a great place for a family reunion, a gathering, vacation, wedding, or just an amazing get away. We have, and will continue to recommend this place to EVERYONE. Can’t wait to return!!!

  • Stayed: July 2014
  • Submitted:
  • Source: VRBO
Roy Queen Creek, AZ USA

Perfect for extended family

We rent a home once a year for a week’s vacation somewhere and have been a number of places in the western US. This was our favorite home so far. Everywhere else we have needed to find excursions or something to do every day. Here, we literally just enjoyed the beach (except one fishing trip). We have seven small grandchildren in the group, and they entertained themselves all day. The beach is just amazing and, except at high tide, the slope is very gentle so there is little danger to kids. We usually like to eat out, but we enjoyed eating on the patio so much we only made it out a couple times. The casitas worked perfectly for families with small children because they could be put down for naps undisturbed. The only complaint my family had was that the dryer wasn’t working, but the clothes line wasn’t so bad. Kathy warned us to wear old tennis shoes in the water in case of stingrays. One person who wasn’t wearing shoes got stung, which resulted in some pain and soaking his foot for 90 minutes, but then was fine. We were there during jellyfish season, and one person got stung, which also gave them some pain for an hour or so. There are many people in the water, so this isn’t a common problem, just something to be aware of and take precautions for. I think shoes reduce the risk of stingrays, and I got thinking later that a long-sleeve rash guard (water shirt) might handle the jellyfish issue. Overall, the house was just the perfect setup for a group and all 20 beds are actual beds in bedrooms (no hide-a-beds). Kathy set up a huge dining room where we could all be together. I highly recommend this home and would love to come again.

  • Stayed: July 2014
  • Submitted:
  • Source: VRBO
Kerry South Jordan, Utah, USA

Great Place to Stay!

We visit Rocky Point every year and always stay in Las Conchas. This was our first stay at Madre del Mar and it was fantastic! Our group comprised of 3 families and a few friends. The layout of the villas and casitas was perfect for our group, giving everyone their own space but still allowing us to be together. We had everything we needed provided, and loved that the owner allowed us to use her kayaks, boogie boards, life vests, even sand toys for the little ones. This area of the beach is wonderful, and ROCK FREE. Madre del Mar is a great place to stay and we highly recommend it!

  • Stayed: June 2014
  • Submitted:
  • Source: VRBO
Jennifer Janesville, WI

Paradise in Peñasco

Kathy (owner) is a wonderful hostess!! She is a beautiful human being, very friendly, inviting, helpful and informative. She made us feel welcomed and opened up her beautiful home to us. All bedrooms have a breathtaking ocean view and their own spacious bathroom. Her kitchen is equipped with all necessary appliances and cookware. There were plenty of towels and toiletries. Kathy also provided plenty of activities during our stay from boogie boarding to kayaking and information on where you can rent jet skies, quads, horse back riding and “La Banana”. She recommended great restaurants and attractions within driving distance if you wish to eat out and explore the town. However, the house was so beautiful and inviting that we stayed in most nights! The house is in a very safe environment with security patrol and private beaches. The main house is spacious enough for large families and 2 smaller studios on the property are available for small groups as well. We had a party of 15, with ages ranging from 2 years to 91 years young 🙂 The beach was beautiful and relaxing with clean sand and warm enough water that is inviting to go in. You can also take great walks along the shore and if you’re lucky enough as we were, you might catch a glimpse of dolphins enjoying the water. Chairs and umbrellas were available along with sand toys for the little ones. There are a few vendors that walk by throughout the day with affordable prices. And lets not forget the wonderful masseuses that will set up right on the beach for a massage with a spectacular view! We had such a wonderful time that we decided to extend our stay from 6 to 7 nights and are looking forward to going back soon!!! Thank you Kathy for sharing your beautiful home and family with us! Blessings from mom:)

  • Stayed: March 2014
  • Submitted:
  • Source: VRBO
Sonia

Bucklist Check Off!

Every person I know tends to have a list of MUST-Dos before they pass on to the upper room, such as Run with the Bulls in Pamplona, sky dive, etc. This past weekend I was able to check off a couple of bucket list items: Live in an ocean-front mansion and enjoy a cup of coffee while walking with my wife on a private beach. My family and friends were awestruck with the sprawling size of the property and villa. As a previous reviewer noted…”it was like having a mansion on the edge of the Sea of Cortez.” Our party rented out a casita and a two-room casa, and both were undersold in their plushness (is that even a word?). The casita was enormous. The kitchen was fully-equipped, and the beds were a sufficient place to rest after a day-long excursion at El Malecon (The Boardwalk). The bathroom was big and nicely tiled. The private beach was that…PRIVATE! I can count on both hands and feet the number of people we saw on the beach during our stay. I have to compliment Kathy on the decor, which was very modern, exuding a homely feel. Personally, I felt like a movie star or better yet, a millionaire, sitting on the beach-side tiled patio, enjoying a drink around an outside fireplace with the sounds of the waves crashing on the sand. Our party was soooo enamored with Madre del Mar that we began planning our return trip on the first night of our stay. It was that FANTABULOUS (Fantastic and Fabulous)!!!!

  • Stayed: March 2013
  • Submitted:
  • Source: VRBO
Juan A. Tulare

Look No Further…This Place is The Best: Your Private Mansion ON the Beach!

We previously stayed in one of the charming casitas available on this beautiful property (see review below), but recently spent two nights in this home’s gorgeous two-bedroom unit. This gated beachfront unit is absolutely incredible…like having your very own mansion steps away from the ocean. There is a fully-loaded kitchen and two fireplaces: one in the living room and one in the master bedroom. Both bedrooms have ocean views and beautifully tiled baths. Sooo nice! Kathy and her little dog, Toby, are wonderful hosts who cheerfully welcome you and act as your personal concierge during your stay. Plus they have all the toys: kayaks, boogie boards, sand toys, beach chairs, life vests, a firepit for weenie roasts on the beach, an outdoor wood grill…the list goes on and on. The location is FABULOUS: a beautiful, shallow sandy beach with NO rocks or glass and only a handful of people. Also, it’s just a short walk to the estuary…a great place to kayak and hunt for shells. Perhaps best of all, Kathy is a generous hostess who makes it sooo easy to stay: no boring, tedious contracts to sign, no security deposits. Just pay and stay…super easy! This place is incredible…we would definitely recommend this beautiful home to anyone!!

  • Stayed: February 2013
  • Submitted:
  • Source: VRBO
maysfarmcom Mesa, Arizona

Bliss by the beach

Dolphins frolicking in the shallows, surreal sunsets of crimson & tangerine, friendly locals, the most spectacular display of marine birds diving for their quarry in the pools at high tide. Watching falling stars light up the dark skies . . The coast of Puerto Penasco in front of Villa del Madre is more than anyone could possibly dream of as a vacationers’ paradise. Kathy’s lovely home is thoughtfully maintained and supplied with all the necessities of a relaxing sojourn. We cannot wait to go back! Muchissimas gracias Kathy y Cesar!

  • Stayed: November 2012
  • Submitted:
  • Source: VRBO
mariaji Tucson

I can’t say enough about Kathy, the owner, and the beautiful property. I along with 19 of my girlfriends, celebrated my 50th birthday party there last October. Kathy helped to organize an “all inclusive” event with spa treatments, a chef, entertainment, activities, and excursions. Everyone had a great time. I highly recommend Madre Del Mar and Kathy!

  • Stayed: October 2007
  • Submitted:
  • Source: HomeAway Family
Wonderful Place for a Special Occasion